P90X3 – Day 1

Total Synergistics

IMG_0035

Today was officially my first day of P90X3. Yay (she says sarcastically). Total synergistics was on the docket. When my alarm went off at 5:45 this morning, I was so not ready for Tony Horton to kick my ass. The good news is – it wasn’t as bad as I imagined! I definitely worked hard and sweated a lot, but I didn’t want to die at the end of it. I really liked the pace of the program. There is definitely no standing around and catching your breath. That is good, because it allows you to get a kick ass workout in only 30 minutes. I felt that I got an amazing entire body workout.

There are a few things that I wish were different. If you are looking for a modifier move, well you won’t really find it on this DVD. Total Synergistics is definitely for intermediate to advanced people. Although Drea is supposed to be showing us the modified version, it either not different at all, or just a touch different, than the usual move. Also, Tony doesn’t take the time to explain and show you each move prior to doing it. Therefore, it takes a little time to figure out what is going on and what you are supposed to do. I think the next time I do this DVD I will be way more tired as I won’t spend the first few moments of each exercise to figure out what is going on.

The eating plan is easy to follow. They have the “micromanagement” and “the way of the hand” method of measuring out food. The micromanage method gives you portions and what to measure (cup, tablespoon, etc) out. The way of the hand gives you portion sizes by measuring with different portions of your hands in order to take all the thinking out of it. The eating plan has definitely been improved over the years and there is a long list of foods that are allowed and not allowed. I still like my portion control color coded containers that comes with the 21 Day Fix. I don’t think I can ever give those up, but this plan works very well too.

The big meal I had as part of this plan was a big salad for dinner. It was much better than I was expecting. I went to the local farmer’s market on Saturday and bought some winter salad mix before asking what was in it. After I asked, I learned that it was a mix of baby bok choy, spinach, and kale. Turned out delicious! Great flavors and hardy foods for winter. The remaining ingredients and a picture are shown below.

IMG_0038Winter Salad:

  • Baby bok choy, baby spinach, baby kale
  • Pea shoots
  • Carrots
  • Red Onion
  • Cherry Tomatoes
  • Celery
  • Chick Peas
  • Grilled chicken (grilled with some pesto and sun-dried tomatoes)

What type of ingredients do you like to put in your salad during the cold, dark winters?

Leave a Reply

