P90X3 – Day 5 and 6

CVX and The Warrior

CVX – I loved this workout. It’s a really good workout after the horror I experienced called, “The Challenge.” This work out has a little more cardio and a LOT more legs in it. Exercises include things such as traveling tire twist (fun!), frog squat reach, arc press lunge, side reach jumps, crescent chair. That’s not even all the exercises – but do you see all the leg work? This better help me come hiking and running season! I better have some beautiful gams by the end of this!!

The Warrior – this workout utterly kicked my ass. I think it was the hardest one of the week. Tony – you are finishing off the week with this workout…when I’m already sore from all the other ones? You bastard! Tony Horton said this workout is a military designed workout. I can tell! I made it through, but barely. Honestly, I may have given up if my husband hadn’t just finished the workout before me and was in the house packing for our hiking trip. Having an accountability buddy has really helped me stick with this program this week. Both fitness and nutrition wise. Could an accountability coach help you? Contact me here.

I had a fantastic meal on Saturday to help me get back my energy after The Warrior. Almost all of it was bought locally or made my me. Local ingredients are the most healthy as they haven’t lost their nutrients in transport or poor soil quality.

Hearty Kale Paninis

IMG_0190 Ingredients:

  • Rye bread (or other hearty bread of your choice. I buy mine at the farmer’s market)
  • One bunch of kale
  • farmer’s cheese (I like Caerphilly or Havarti)
  • Hot pepper relish
  • Tomato soup (you can make this, I have before and it was amazing. I went lazy and bought canned this time though)
  • Olive oil
  • Red wine vinegar
  • Salt for seasoning

Remove stems from the kale leaves. Put the kale into boiling water and blanch for 2-3 minutes. Following this, pour into a colander and cool. After kale has cooled, squeeze the water out. Cut into 1 inch strips

Put kale into a bowl. Toss with 1 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp of red wine vinegar. Season with salt.

Set up the sandwiches. Spread hot pepper relish on bread, top with kale and cheese.

Prep panini maker. Spray with olive oil. Put sandwiches on panini maker. Serve with soup.  YUM!!!

Leave a Reply

